How to block (and unblock) someone on WhatsApp

In this guide I’ll show you how to block (and unblock) someone on WhatsApp – both on iPhone and Android phones.

how to block someone on WhatsApp

Before we begin, let me introduce myself: I’m Frankie Caruso – expert in instant messaging apps and hacking techniques – welcome to my blog.

The reasons why you want to block a number or contact on WhatsApp can be many, from breaking up a relationship to wanting to cut ties with a friend, to the need to stop some pushy contact from bothering you.

With this guide, you will be able to block an unknown contact or phone number on WhatsApp quickly and easily.

I decided to split the guide into two parts: in the first part I’ll explain how to block (and if you want to unblock) someone on WhatsApp on iPhone and Android devices. In the second part I’ll answer the most common questions that users have asked me in recent years, such as: “what happens when you block a contact?”, “does the blocked contact know that they’re blocked?” etc.

Let’s not waste any more time and get right to the heart of this guide!

Block a Contact in WhatsApp

Let me begin by explaining how to block a contact on WhatsApp. I will first show you how to do it on iPhone and then on Android devices.

Iphone

Blocking a WhatsApp contact on iPhone is a very simple and accessible procedure.

Follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to WhatsApp
  2. From the home screen go to Settings > Account > Privacy
  3. Tap on Blocked
  4. Tap on Add New and choose the name of the person you want to block from the contact list

Congratulations! You blocked a contact!

This is the “official” procedure provided directly by WhatsApp.

However, it is not the sole one… in fact there is also an alterative method – and I think it’s faster – to block a contact or an unknown number.

Here it is: open the chat with the contact, then click on the contact’s name (or phone number if the contact is not saved in your address book) > scroll to the end of the screen and click Block Contact > Block.

Block a contact on WhatsApp

The only shortcoming of this alternative method is that it doesn’t allow you to block multiple contacts at once. So use it if you only need to block a single contact or a single phone number.

Android Devices

Blocking a WhatsApp contact on your Android smartphone is a pretty simple operation.

Proceed as I advise and you won’t find any problems.

  1. Open WhatsApp
  2. Go to Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked contacts
  3. Tap Add and find the contact you want to block from the contact list
  4. Choose the contact and press Block

Awesome!! You blocked one or more contacts.

Just like on iPhone, there’s a faster alternative method on Android phones…

I’ll show it to you right now: Open a chat with the contact you want block, tap the name of the contact at the top of the screen click on Block and then Block.

Frankie-Caruso


Frankie’s Take:

As you have seen the procedure for blocking a contact on WhatsApp on both iPhone and Android is very simple. Just as simple is unblocking the blocked person. In fact, if for some reason you change your mind and decide to unlock a contact on WhatsApp, do the following: Open WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked. Then click on the contact’s name and tap on Unblock.

Block an Unknown Phone Number in WhatsApp

We are increasingly receiving messages from unknown numbers with commercial offers or invitations to events. They are not always interesting, in fact most of the time they are annoying and fall into the category “spam”.

Luckily, there is a way to block them.

Here too, the procedure to follow is simple and accessible even to those unfamiliar with technology.

Whether you have an iPhone or an Android smartphone follow these 3 steps:

  1. Open the message from the unknown contact
  2. Tap the unknown number at the top of the screen
  3. Scroll down and tap on Block
Note: If the message is spam, you can tap Report Spam and then Report and Block. If you want to learn more and comprehend the difference between Report as spam and block someone, I suggest you to read this guide: Report or Bock a user on WhatsApp?.

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp

Well, after I have shown you how to block a contact or block an unknown phone number on WhatsApp, it is time to explain once and for all what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp.

I decided to add this chapter to my guide because over the past few years many of you have asked me questions like this:

Hey Frankie, but if I block a person, does that person find out?

Or…

Can a blocked contact see my stories or my profile picture?

So I thought it would be a good idea to collect and answer all the most frequently asked questions about this topic.

Let’s have a look at them…

What happens when I block a contact or a phone number?

From the moment you block a contact (or a number):

  • You won’t receive – and at the same time you won’t be able to send – messages, photos and videos
  • You will no longer be able to receive – or make – calls
  • The blocked contact will not be able to see your profile picture, last login and status. Thus you won’t be able to do it either

If I block a contact, does he realize that?

This is definitely one of the questions I am asked most often… The answer is YES and NO.

Let me explain it to you…

When you block a contact, WhatsApp does not send any notification, so – at least initially – the blocked person has no way of knowing and understanding that they have been blocked.

However, they may have concerns if, after some time, messages sent are not delivered or they can no longer see your last login or profile photo.

There are therefore clues that can make the blocked person realize that they are “unwanted”.  All the techniques to find out if a contact has been blocked or not I have collected them in this guide: how to find out who blocked you on WhatsApp – 100% working.

If I block a contact, does it also get deleted from my contact list?

When a contact in WhatsApp gets blocked, the phone number won’t be deleted from the contact list but will remain visible. The blocked contact can call you on your mobile phone or send you messages via text message or iMessage.

If you do not want to be bothered on other platforms as well then I suggest you block the contact on iMessage (read my guide on how to do this) and on Facebook Messenger.

If I block a contact will the previous messages also be deleted?

No, blocking someone will not affect old messages or media files because they will remain on your device until you manually delete them.

Conclusions

Wow! We’ve come to the end of this guide. I hope the information you’ve gotten here proved useful.

I’m very happy to help you.

Before saying goodbye you I’ll give you a short recap of what I explained in this guide: in the first pate I showed you both how to block a contact and an unknown number on WhatsApp. In the second part I tried to answer – as clearly as possible – the most common questions about this topic.

That’s really it for the time being. If you have any doubts or questions comment on the post below, I will be happy to help you.

Come back and find me soon.

I’ll be waiting for you,

PS – Blocking a contact only on WhatsApp is often not enough… Here’s how to block it on iMessage too.

Share this article!
About Frankie Caruso

Hello! I am Frankie Caruso and I love to fiddle with all of the popular messaging applications with the hacking techniques that I love. I want to find out how to breach the defenses of these apps and exploit weaknesses.

Leave a Comment