How to deactivate your WhatsApp account if your phone is lost or stolen

WhatsApp is the most used messaging application worldwide, and through it lot of personal information is exchanged both in the form of messages and media files.

How to Deactivate WhatsApp Account

Losing your mobile phone or getting it stolen is the worst thing that can happen, as all your exchanged media and messages go with it. If you have lost your mobile it is still possible to find and retrieve it thanks to the GPS technology with which most iPhone and Android are equipped, but in the meantime it is wise to disable WhatsApp account to stay on the safe side.

Hi I’m Frankie, your guide on MessagingAppLab.com, and here’s a step-by-step guide to deactivate your WhatsApp account easily.

How to deactivate your WhatsApp account in case of theft or loss

The first thing to do is to call your mobile operator and report the loss of your SIM card. Then, proceed to deactivate your WhatsApp account by sending an email to the technical assistance of WhatsApp and the process will be performed automatically.

After disabling your WhatsApp account, your contacts can continue sending messages to your phone number for the following 30 days, and you can receive them once you’ve re-activated your account on another mobile. However, if after those 30 days the account has not been activated on another device, all the messages will be deleted automatically.

In these cases of theft or loss you should follow these steps to disable the account:

  • Write a new email message to [email protected]
  • Write in the email subject: “Phone stolen/lost: Please disable my account.”
  • Add in the body message the phone number associated with the WhatsApp account with the country code. For example: +44 666555444 (UK numbers)

It may take a couple of days to receive a response. Have patience though, as they will get in touch.

How to delete a WhatsApp account

If you want to delete permanently your account you should be aware that all contacts and everything associated with it will be irreversibly canceled. The following information is all that disappears:

  • Message history (is completely removed from the device)
  • Groups and contacts
  • Backups, including those stored in Google Drive
  • Synchronized contacts will dissociate from the app

If you really want to delete your account permanently, open WhatsApp, and go to Settings > Account > Delete My Account. Enter your phone number associated with WhatsApp and click on the red button “Delete my account“.

For further details, you can read our definitive guide about how to delete your WhatsApp account.

That’s all I have for you. If you have more questions or comments, feel free to post them down below and I will get back with you.

As always, a hug,

Share this article!
About Frankie Caruso

Hello! I am Frankie Caruso and I love to fiddle with all of the popular messaging applications with the hacking techniques that I love. I want to find out how to breach the defenses of these apps and exploit weaknesses.