Do you have a suspicion that your friend is blocking you on WhatsApp? Do you want to know if you have been blocked by your girlfriend or boyfriend? Here is a guide to see if someone is avoiding you on WhatsApp.
Are you getting suspicious that some of your contacts have blocked you on WhatsApp? We are going to show you 5 methods to find out whether your suspicions are well-founded. Each has its reliability coefficient (RC) that indicates on a scale of 1 to 100 the degree of reliability. WhatsApp’s developers have never released an official function to allow users to find out who blocked them. However, here we show how to do it.
Ticks in messages, last seen, profile pictures and all other indicators often make users confused.
Usually, we get suspicious when we don’t receive messages for a while and our “suspected” contact seems to have disappeared. Therefore, we check their profile and we realize that their status was updated a long time ago (e.g.. we read “Sun, sea, summer,” in their WhatsApp status, but we are in winter… it doesn’t make sense). Then, when your suspicions begin to swell, you realize that even their profile picture is gone.
Have you ever seen no picture on someone’s WhatsApp profile and thought that you may have been blocked? Well, in this tutorial we will remove all doubts regarding how to find out who blocked you on WhatsApp.
To defeat your enemy, you must become your enemy.
Therefore, let’s see how to block someone on WhatsApp and, later, the 4 different methods to find out if someone decided – reasonably or not – to break off communication with us via WhatsApp.
How to block someone on WhatsApp
When you block a contact on WhatsApp, any possibility of sending and receiving messages, photos, and video is automatically stopped. Furthermore, by activating this option the blocked contact will not see your status updates, profile image, and if you have the “last seen” message active, this will not be viewable.
P.S. Remember that when you block someone on WhatsApp, you won’t only not receive their messages, but you will no longer be able to contact them.
Blocking a contact is really simple. Let’s see the classic method that works on all devices (iPhone, Android, Windows Phone, etc.):
Open the app and go to: Settings> Account> Privacy> Blocked (or blocked contacts).
Tap “Add new” and select the contact to be blocked from your phone book, which will be added to the “blocked contacts list“.
IPhone shortcut: If you use WhatsApp on iPhone, there is also a fast alternative to block a contact – when you receive a message from someone that is not in the phone book, under the phone number three options will appear: block, edit, add. Select “block” to activate the “blocked contact”.
P.S. When you block someone on WhatsApp, it is NOT automatically deleted either from the WhatsApp contacts list or from the phonebook. To do this, you must delete the unwanted contact permanently.
WhatsApp: 5 ways to find out who blocked you
As explained above, we see in detail 5 different methods to see if we have been blocked on WhatsApp. Each of these has a reliability coefficient (RC) that indicates on a scale of 1 to 100 the reliability of the method.
1. Technique of the last visit (RC 45%)
The first thing to do to find out who blocked you is to check the “Last seen” of the suspect. To do this, just open a conversation with them (without writing anything) and see what appears right under their contact name. If you see the words “Last seen…” then it is certain that you are NOT being blocked. If nothing appears, there is a good chance that you have been placed in their “blocked contacts list”.
Margin of error: lately this method has lacked effectiveness after many users decided to hide their ‘last seen’ status.
2. Technique of profile picture (RC 65%)
The technique of the profile picture is similar to the previous one, but with a higher degree of reliability, thanks to the fact that it is not possible to “hide” the profile picture as for the last seen. This method involves opening the profile of the suspected contact and check the status of their profile picture. If you cannot see it, then it is likely that the contact has blocked you. When you block a contact, they can’t see your profile picture anymore.
Margin of error: a user may simply decide to delete their profile picture, thus misdirecting you.
3. Technique of single tick (RC 55%)
The third method concerns the famous “ticks” (small green, grey or blue “v” that appears at the bottom right in the message and indicates whether they were sent/read/received). If you’re being blocked, you will always see a single tick next to the message.
Margin of error: this method can be fallible if the suspected contact knows the technique to read a message without making ticks appear.
4. Almost perfect technique (RC 90-99%)
The first three methods, as suggested by the RC, are quite reliable, but are still far from the certainty that we are seeking. To be sure that the suspected contact has blocked us on WhatsApp, we need more. What will help us is psychology, but there’s nothing complicated involved. What we do is combine the techniques described above with what we know of the behavior of the suspected contact. This allows us to get over the “margin of error” found in techniques 1, 2 and 3.
Practically, you have to combine all available data. Collect what you have learned by following steps 1, 2 and 3, and see if there are inconsistencies in the usual behavior of the suspect. It may sound complicated, but you don’t need to be a psychologist. Let’s see how to do this with an example.
Example: We want to find out if our contact John has blocked us. You open his contact on WhatsApp and notice that ‘last seen’ doesn’t appear. Then you notice that double ticks have never showed up, and the profile picture has disappeared. In this case, John has probably blocked you. Then, to be sure, you search in your memory to remember what kind of use John made of WhatsApp.
Usually, the most common scenarios that you will face are these two:
1. If he rarely used WhatsApp… you could NOT have been blocked. In this case, double-check every day for a week. If you don’t notice any changes (for example, the presence or absence of the profile image that until recently you managed to see) then you have the answer you were looking for: John has blocked you.
2. If he used (and uses) WhatsApp dozens of times a day… you’ve almost certainly been blocked!
So, the more you are able to combine the collected data, the more you are able to give an answer to the question “how do I find out if someone blocked me on WhatsApp?” The RC, just based on our investigative skills, can range from 90% to 99%.
5. Test of “group” to be 100% sure you are blocked (but be careful!)
The 4 techniques are useful and valid, but leave a 1% of uncertainty. That’s OK, as the problem was solved with a “trick” published by the Hispanic portal Wasap Ninja,“How do you know you have been blocked on WhatsApp?” with absolute certainty.
The answer is simple. If all the suspicions indicated in the methods 1, 2, 3 and 4 are well-founded, you can move on to the final test.
Some might think of using this method directly and skipping the others, but the risk of “getting caught” would become too high. We will see in detail after we explained how to see if someone blocked us through the groups.
Let’s sum up the situation:
What happens when someone blocked you on WhatsApp?
* Your sent messages never reach the recipient.
* You cannot make voice calls.
* You don’t see the status update, the last seen and changes to the profile picture.
However, these indicators don’t guarantee that you’ll find out whether someone has blocked you (as we saw earlier).
To be sure you need more.
Proceed as follows:
– Open WhatsApp and create a new group.
– Search for the suspected contact and try to add them to the newly-created group.
– If you have not been blocked by this person, the contact is normally added to the new group.
– If you have been blocked, you will see a message like “You are not authorized to add this contact.” This means that you have been blocked, without any doubt.
To cut a long story short, you can add to a group only contacts who haven’t blocked you.
But be careful! Although this technique gives the absolute certainty that you have been blocked, you run the risk of being accused of “unfounded suspicions”. If you have not been blocked, in fact, the person whom you suspect will be added to a dummy group and will surely wonder “why did they add me?” For this reason, and to avoid “getting caught”, before doing the group test it is advised to use other methods and ensure your suspicions are as grounded as possible.