News

How to delete a sent WhatsApp message before it’s delivered

28/01/2016

Did you send a WhatsApp message to the wrong person or which you simply regretted? Do you want to stop a WhatsApp message from being delivered to a recipient? Did you accidentally send a photo to the wrong person? Do not worry, as there is a way to delete a sent message before it is read.

delete a sent WhatsApp message before it’s delivered

We all regularly send messages and pictures to our friends through WhatsApp, and it may occur that we get the recipients wrong. This danger is always just around the corner. In the worst case, you may even send a compromising photo to your employer or boyfriend/girlfriend, especially while sending multiple images simultaneously to several people.

Fortunately, there is a solution. If you’ve sent a message to someone you didn’t want to, and you see a clock icon, it means that the message has not been sent yet or there is a lack of data coverage. In this case, you still have time to fix it and delete the message already sent.

How to recall a sent WhatsApp message

To recall the message before it is delivered, do as follows:

  • Long-click on the message you have mistakenly sent.
  • Tap on “Delete” in the window that will pop up.

Remember that this procedure only works if the message hasn’t been marked as sent (double gray ticks).

What happens if I’ve accidentally sent a picture (or video) to the wrong person? Well again, you can back out, but you must be quick.

Deleting a sent WhatsApp picture or video? You must take action fast!

WhatsApp takes a few seconds to load your media (photos and videos), and these are the precious moments in which to take action and stop the sending. Here’s how to do it:

Immediately turn off the cellular data and Wi-Fi. The fastest way to block any internet connection is by enabling airplane mode, which can be reached easily from the notification bar (both on iPhone and Android or any other devices that have the notification bar).

After disabling the internet connection, you should see a red exclamation point next to the message if you did it on time. This indicates that the message was blocked.

The next step is to click on the image to bring up the pull-down menu and click on Delete. Just one more click on Delete and the file will be permanently canceled from WhatsApp, without anyone reading it.

Remember, the key is the speed. Therefore, it is good to keep in mind that the quickest way to turn off the internet connection is with the airplane mode. The method also works without closing WhatsApp, as it is enough to disconnect the phone from the Internet.





You Might Also Like

  • Hello Lhakpa,
    yeh it would be really helpful

  • lokesh kumar

    sir galti se mera personal sms whatsapp pe kisi dusre ke number pe send ho gya hai lekin usne ye sms abhi nhi read kiya hai toh ab use mai kaise delete kru

  • You can do it. You should be really fast =)